Interview with The Maitlands, Diving In The Shallow End and Bobby Driscoll

Have you heard the latest two singles from The Maitlands? They’re awesome, tip top songs headlining a phenomenal run of songs from the band. Go buy ‘Diving In The Shallow End’. Go buy ‘Bobby Driscoll’! Then read our exclusive interview with Carl, ringleader of The Maitlands!

https://themaitlands1.bandcamp.com/track/bobby-driscoll

https://themaitlands1.bandcamp.com/track/diving-in-at-the-shallow-end

‘Diving In The Shallow End’ is a heavier sound than normal, dare I say “psych”?

Yeah for sure it’s a heavier track. It’s got a great groove though that does it for me. I do listen to a lot of Psych, I love stuff like Captain Beefheart, but we probably sound more Shaun Ryder fronting Oh Sees..but..I can live with that.

What’s Diving about? Talk of pushers and viaducts reminds me of the canal pusher from a few years back.

I started writing the song while walking down the canal from Yorkshire to Manchester. As it got darker as well it definitely got a lot hairier, so there are pleasant references but also yeah I mention the pushers. I doubt it’s one fella who committed all the crimes. Robbing on canals at night is common. Also, I nicked a phase while watching Springwatch and took some lyrics from that: ‘From the flowers to the leaves to the bark to the root.’

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X_gOzFr3GcQ

‘Bobby Driscoll’ is a bit more recognisable as a Maitlands song with a shaggy dog story and Pulp sounds in the tune. Who is Bobby Driscoll?

Bobby Driscoll was a child actor in alot of the early Disney films. The animated Peter Pan character was based on his face.
It’s a long story how I got writing about him but my wife, Laura suggested I write a song about Hart Island in America where they bury unclaimed bodies. I started learning about the place and it is steeped in covered-up history, too much for just one song. I happened to then watch Treasure Island on the telly and I just thought I’d check what became of the young actor playing Hawkings. I saw that he was buried in an unmarked grave on Hart Island so that became my focus to tell his story. I could go on and on about this, but it’s another tragic tale of a child actor who has outgrown their purpose. He wrote a letter to Andy Warhol before he died as he wanted his story told. That letter was found in Andy Warhol’s possessions after his death. I’ve used some of the letter in the lyrics. It’s a first for me to write about someone I never met.

What’s the sample at the start? It reminds me of something The Smiths might have used, or maybe the subject matter is remind me of ‘Little Man What Now?” by Morrissey.

There’s two samples in that song. The opening one is him being introduced as the winner of an academy award. The second one is towards the end where he is thanking God for giving him such a wonderful mother and father. Its a bit more hidden in the mix as I didn’t like it too much. Gave me the chills.

“…From Treasure Island to Hart,
Should of been a theme park,
Pan over your life now,
Unrecognisable from above,
The unclaimed star…’

Saul’s drumming is a real stand out on these two tracks…

Saul is one of the best drummers I have ever met, his work on these two tracks is phenomenal. Especially on Driscoll, it’s his beat that keeps my heart in my mouth.

The production is great, they sound huge. Is it hard getting everything right?

Working with Mark Winterburn (producer) on these tracks was a pleasure. He became part of the band, putting his all in. He doesn’t do things half arsed with us. It is a nightmare to please everyone in the band. It gets a bit heated at points when we’re discussing mixing among the band. Hard work, but worth it in the end.

What gigs have you got coming up, must be great to be playing again?

We’re at Gullivers in Manchester on the 4th November, then in Oldham on the 6th at Tokyo Project. for a couple of local gigs. Currently having another Maitland line-up shake up so we’ve nothing booked in till January when we’re going around the country gigging again. It’s great to back out doing it.

Covid must be especially frustrating as The Maitlands were really gaining traction.

We were doing great before all this, and it has been hard for a lot of people. It would be selfish of me to compare my situation to others. I was able to carry on writing songs and spent time with my family. We’ve had 3 band members leave since we first locked down so it’s definitely not been as fun for everyone working remotely. I’m not ready to stop yet. We’re making big plans now.

Lou Reed or John Cale?

Both equally as important but I’ll go John Cale if I was pushed.

Brian Eno or Bryan Ferry?

Ferry.

Uncle Albert or Grandad?

It’s gone a bit Smash Hits this but definitely Grandad “I ordered an Emperor Burger”

What’s your favourite curry?

Oooh, I’ll take a Pathia please. Rice and a garlic Naan.

Thanks Carl!


Leave a comment