What’s In A Cover? Garsa on The Unfairity

A protest folk-tronica artist for 2021+, solo artist Garsa has a new debut EP called The Unfairity, led by the outstanding single ‘Ghosts’ (reviewed here). He combines song-writing and heart with electronica. Both old fashioned and new fashioned, he is a man out of time, and of the now.

To celebrate the release of The Unfairity, we caught up with Garsa (Martin) as part of our ongoing series, What’s In A Cover, which celebrates art work!

Firstly, listen to and buy The Unfairity here!

Let’s start with the big one! Who made the art, why that style and how does it represent The Unfairity?

I made the art. I wanted something that I could do myself as previous single art was other people’s royalty free work from various sites. I wanted to get away from that. Not being a great artist or photographer, I played with some ideas on the computer and came up with the simple abstract landscape using triangles to build up a picture. I wanted something simple yet eye catching and in a style that I could use for future releases, to keep a kind of set theme going on.

It has a great childlike quality… it reminds me of fuzzy felt!

Yes, I can totally see that! That’s actually a great idea for a release! Fuzzy felt album sleeve, design your own scene *adds fuzzy felt album cover idea to notepad*.

I can answer the “representing The Unfairity” part of question one with this too. My nine-year-old son Lachlan came up with the term The Unfairity and let me use it for the E.P. I suppose the fact that the cover has a childlike quality and was named by a child using a made-up word represents it quite well.

And it has a DIY aspect to it which reflects the bedroom recording vibe going on!

Yes, I suppose it does. It was made on the same computer, from the same seat as the songs were recorded and was very much a learn as you go process. It’s all been very DIY, mainly due to lack of funds so I’ve had no choice but to do it myself. I’m glad I did though. I feel as though I’ve achieved something in doing it and I’ve certainly learnt a few new skills.

I’ve dubbed you “the Peggy Suicide of Oldham” … you dig ;-)?

If I’m honest I’m not massively familiar with Julian Cope’s work. Not because I dislike him. I do like what bits I’ve heard! He’s just one of those artists that I have passed by without giving a proper listen to. I need to take the time to dig into his back catalogue.

I’m aware of what his music means and its importance so, to be dubbed “the Peggy Suicide of Oldham” is quite the compliment, I think!

Peggy Suicide is probably the best place to start 😉 But his post 2000 work is stunning – Black Sheep in particular is sensational. But that’s enough about the Arch Drude!

Thanks to Garsa for taking time to talk to us! Don’t forget to check out the EP here!

If you enjoyed What’s In A Cover, head over to the Contents page to read more – and lots of reviews, reviews/not reviews (?) and miscellaneous articles to dig into!

Leave a comment